Thought Catalog

ShutterstockShutterstock

I grew up without any religious affiliation in a very religious town and now attend a southern college that also has a large religious presence. Many of my best friends are extremely religious and while I love them, I wish that they would consider the five following points.

  1. Lack of religious affiliation does not mean lack of morality.  I was talking to my very religious friend recently about different places we would like to live.  When I suggested France, she cringed and said that she could never live there because, as a country, France seemed to be very “immoral,” which I had never heard said before.  When I asked where she heard that, she said, “Oh I don’t know, I have just heard that they have the highest percentage of non-religious people in all of Europe.” Ouch. The two are not one in the same.
  1. Do not come…

View original post 322 more words

